MCGEE.JPG
OperationCrossroads by William & Sandra
УИЛЬЯМ Л. МАКГИ и САНДРА В. МАКГИ

В 1946 году Билл МакГи, USN, стал свидетелем операции «Перекресток» с палубы корабля USS Fall River (CA-131), флагманского корабля целевого флота. Известный тихоокеанский военный историк времен Второй мировой войны, Макги и его соавтор / жена написали операцию «Перекресток», чтобы мы не забыли! Рассказ очевидца, Испытания атомной бомбы в бикини, 1946.

 

1 июля 1946 года по календарю Бикини (30 июня в Нью-Йорке) миллионы людей во всем мире с нетерпением ждали у своих радиоприемников результатов первого послевоенного испытания атомной бомбы. Никто не знал, чего ожидать », - пишет Уильям Л. МакГи в своих военно-морских мемуарах« Операция «Перекресток», чтобы мы не забыли! ». Рассказ очевидца, Испытания атомной бомбы в бикини, 1946.

Летом 1946 года Макги был одним из 42 000 военных, ученых и гражданских лиц, собравшихся на удаленном атолле Бикини на Маршалловых островах. Цель: провести послевоенные испытания атомной бомбы на судах, технике и животных военного времени. Кодовое название: Операция ПЕРЕКРЕСТОК.

В этом году исполняется 75 лет со дня первых послевоенных испытаний атомной бомбы на атолле Бикини.

WILLIAM L. MCGEE & SANDRA V. MCGEE

In 1946, Bill McGee, USN, witnessed Operation Crossroads from the deck of the USS Fall River (CA-131), Flagship for the Target Fleet. A prolific WWII Pacific war historian, McGee and his co-author/wife have written Operation Crossroads, Lest We Forget! An Eyewitness Account, Bikini Atomic Bomb Tests 1946.

 

On 1 July 1946 by the Bikini calendar (30 June in New York), millions of people around the world waited anxiously by their radios for the results of the first post-war test of the atomic bomb. No one knew what to expect,” writes William L. McGee in his naval memoir, Operation Crossroads, Lest We Forget! An Eyewitness Account, Bikini Atomic Bomb Tests 1946.

In the summer of 1946, McGee was one of the 42,000 military, scientists, and civilian personnel assembled at the remote Bikini Atoll in the Marshall Islands. The objective: to conduct postwar testing of the atomic bomb on wartime vessels, equipment, and animals. Code name: Operation CROSSROADS.

This year marks the 75th Anniversary of the first post-war atomic bomb tests at the Bikini Atoll. 

© LABRATS. All Rights Reserved -  EMAIL: info@labrats.international

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

LABRATS International, PO Box 187, CARMARTHEN, SA31 9EW - Tel: + 44 20 3286 3988

LABRATS (LEGACY OF THE ATOMIC BOMB. RECOGNITION FOR ATOMIC TEST SURVIVORS) CIC - Company number 12874772